Where is My Mind?

This attention exercise proved to be more difficult than the first, as it wasn’t my attention while online that was the issue; I was just simply distracted with life.  Not only was I distracted but I was procrastinating.

I made a list of to do’s, as I normally do, but struggled to tackle anything on that list.  One of my class projects seemed overwhelming and I was avoiding it.  Because this project was my main priority over the weekend, and I was avoiding it, the rest of my homework got put on the back burner.

I found all sorts of other things to do with my time.  I cleaned my house from top to bottom and then offered to help clean a friend’s house. I also ended up walking around McKinney trade days because the weather was so refreshing and I wanted to be outdoors.  I did this and more all while knowing I had a list of assignments waiting for me at home.

Eventually I got around to tackling the project and was surprised at how well it turned out.  When it was finally complete I felt a huge weight lifted off of my shoulders and was able to organize a plan of attack for the rest of my schoolwork.

I realized during these two exercises that I am prone to distraction and procrastination but once I get started I find myself super focused.  I just need to be able to find the motivation to get started.  Perhaps I will have to start a breathing/meditation ritual prior to starting my homework to calm and focus my mind.

One thought on “Where is My Mind?

  1. Helen — really great reflections in both of these attention posts. Your second post speaks to an important thing for everyone to remember: getting started is always the hardest part…especially when it comes to writing, or any sort of creative project. I don’t why it’s always the hardest part, but I do know that the everything gets easier about 5 minutes after starting (as seemed to be the case in your attention exercise). How we think is related to how we act. Once we start writing–once we commit to that action–our thoughts follow suit. And, on the other hand, if we put off that action, then our thoughts…become less productive. We probably all realize this, but it’s so easy to forget, especially during the moments when we’re procrastinating. As your post illustrates, we often get our best ideas after we starting something–while we’re grappling with it–and whatever difficulties we anticipated before we started turn out to be minor issues.

Leave a Reply

