Analog Girl in a Digital World

I would venture to describe myself as technologically impaired, perhaps even severely impaired.

Growing up we had a computer in our house but I was only allowed to use it for homework assignments.  So, as a child, I never really had an interest in technology.  However, as I have explored different avenues throughout my college career (and believe me, it has been a career) I find myself drawn to communication and the creative process, which led me to UTD’s EMAC program.

My day to day interaction with the internet and other daily technologies pretty much revolves around my work life.  My main communications are through email, chat, and text messaging.

Outside of work I use the internet pretty minimally.  I’ll Facebook, watch videos on YouTube, Hulu, or Netflix, check the weather, Google random information as needed, and maybe read a few blogs.  I don’t really know how to fully utilize and explore the internet but I know it has much more to offer, and I intend to learn the skills necessary to navigate the internet to become a more technologically literate individual.

I have much to learn about writing and researching online.  Fortunately I am determined to grow and put aside my fears of the unknown.  It seems vast and overwhelming, but with the proper direction I believe I can begin to feel comfortable in the digital world.

There are many differences between writing online and writing for academic purposes.  Writing online has the possibility of drawing a much larger audience and needs to be able to convey a clear purpose. There has to be an interest, a reason for the reader to want to continue to read or follow along.  Throughout this course I hope to learn more effective ways to capture an audience through my writing.

I will also have to learn (or be forced) to overcome my shyness in regards to my writing.  Usually I tend to keep my work to myself and whomever I absolutely have to share it with.  Getting out of my comfort zone will be the challenge in this area.

Researching online is a whole other story.  As I stated earlier, my knowledge of how to effectively use the internet is slim to none.  Other than typing in a keyword or phrase into a search engine I got nadda. I feel like I have considerable room for improvement, and after covering the syllabus in class I am excited and eager to learn.

My main goal for this class, in conjunction with my other classes, is to become more media literate in the technological sense.  I want to learn to explore the different outlets used in communication online, gain an understanding of how to use and manipulate these outlets, and develop a sense of confidence in utilizing technology today and as it changes in the future.

Title from Erykah Badu’s “… & On”

Leave a Reply

